MID DEVON DISTRICT COUNCIL

MINUTES of a MEETING of the COUNCIL held on 29 June 2016 at 6.50 pm

Present

Councillors W J Daw (Chairman)

Mrs E M Andrews, Mrs H Bainbridge, Mrs A R Berry, Mrs J B Binks, K Busch. R J Chesterton. Mrs C Collis. Mrs F J Colthorpe, D R Coren, N V Davey, Mrs C P Daw, R M Deed. R J Dolley, J M Downes. C J Eginton, R Evans. S G Flaws, Mrs S Griggs, P H D Hare-Scott, T G Hughes, P J Heal. Mrs B M Hull, F W Letch. B A Moore, R F Radford, Mrs J Roach. Mrs E J Slade. Miss C E L Slade, C R Slade, T W Snow, R L Stanley, J D Squire, L D Taylor, N A Way, Mrs N Woollatt and R Wright

Apologies

Councillors Mrs G Doe, F J Rosamond, J L Smith and

Mrs M E Squires

30 Apologies

Apologies were received from Councillors Mrs G Doe, F J Rosamond, J L Smith and Mrs M E Squires.

31 Public Question Time

There were no members of the public present.

32 Honorary Alderman

The Council was reminded that the meeting had been specially convened, in accordance with the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, for the purpose of considering Motions to confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon: Mrs L J Holloway and M A Lucas.

(1) Honorary Alderman: Linda Jane Holloway

Upon a Motion proposed by Councillor Mrs F J Colthorpe and seconded by Councillor R J Chesterton it was:

RESOLVED THAT, in exercise of powers conferred by Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Mid Devon District Council do **HEREBY CONFER** upon **LINDA JANE HOLLOWAY** the title of **HONORARY ALDERMAN** of the District, in recognition of the eminent services which she rendered as a Member of this Council from May 2003 to May 2015 recording particularly the Council's appreciation of her

Council – 29 June 2016 11

service as a Planning Committee member from May 2003 to May 2015; Vice Chairman of the Planning Committee from May 2009 to May 2011; a member of the Highways and Traffic Order's Committee for Mid Devon for a total period of 5 years between September 2006 and May 2015; a member of the Standards Committee from December 2011 to May 2015; a member of the Decent and Affordable Homes Policy Development Group from November 2007 to May 2011; a member of the Constitution Working Group from January 2013 to March 2015; a member of the Cullompton Traffic Issues and Environment Working Group from 1997 to 2015; a member of the Cullompton Enhancement and Regeneration Group which later became known as the Cullompton Town Team from 2009 to 2015; a member of the joint meeting of the Resources and Community Services Committees from November 2003 to June 2007; a member of the Resources Committee from May 2003 to May 2007; and as a representative of the Council upon a number of other bodies and organisations.

AND THAT, in due course, a copy of this resolution, suitably engrossed and sealed with the common seal of the District Council be presented to Mrs Linda Jane Holloway.

(2) Honorary Alderman: Melvyn Alan Lucas

Upon a Motion proposed by Councillor C J Eginton and seconded by Councillor R F Radford it was:

RESOLVED THAT, in exercise of powers conferred by Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Mid Devon District Council do HEREBY CONFER upon MELVYN ALAN LUCAS the title of HONORARY ALDERMAN of the District, in recognition of the eminent services which he rendered as a Member of this Council from May 2003 to May 2015 recording particularly the Council's appreciation of his service as Chairman of the Managing the Environment Policy Development Group from November 2007 until May 2015, as a member of the Licensing and Regulatory Committees from May 2003 to May 2015, as a member of the Grand Western Canal Joint Advisory Committee from June 2003 to May 2015, as a member of the Devon Authorities Waste Reduction and Recycling Committee from May 2007 to May 2015, as a member of the Planning Committee from May 2005 to April 2011, as a member of the Standards Committee from May 2003 to December 2011, as Chairman of the Leisure Procurement Sub Committee from April 2007 to October 2007, as a member of the Community Services Committee from May 2007 to November 2007, as a member of the Community Services Scrutiny Committee from May 2003 to May 2007, as a member of the Joint meeting of the Resources and Community Services Committees from June 2007 to November 2007, as Lead Member on the Refuse and Recycling Working Group from July 2005 to February 2006, as a member of the Waste Management and Recycling Scrutiny panel from January 2004 to June 2004; and as a representative of the Council upon a number of other bodies and organisations.

AND THAT, in due course, a copy of this resolution, suitably engrossed and sealed with the common seal of the District Council be presented to Mr Melvyn Alan Lucas.

Council – 29 June 2016 12

(The meeting ended at 6.55 pm)

CHAIRMAN

Council – 29 June 2016 13